Chronic Myeloid Neoplasms
Myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN)
WHO classification of myeloproliferative neoplasms

Topic Completed: 1 August 2011

Revised: 31 December 2018, last major update August 2011

Copyright: (c) 2002-2017,, Inc.

PubMed Search: myeloproliferative neoplasms [title] WHO classification

Nikhil Sangle, M.D.
Page views in 2018: 538
Page views in 2019 to date: 673
Cite this page: Sangle N. WHO classification of myeloproliferative neoplasms. website. Accessed November 18th, 2019.
Definition / general
WHO 2008 - Myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN)
  • Chronic myelogenous leukemia
  • Polycythemia vera
  • Essential thrombocythemia
  • Primary myelofibrosis
  • Chronic neutrophilic leukemia
  • Chronic eosinophilic leukemia, not otherwise categorized
  • Mast cell disease
  • MPNs, unclassifiable

WHO 2001 - Chronic myeloproliferative diseases
  • Chronic myelogenous leukemia (Philadelphia chromosome, t(9;22)(q34;q11), BCR-ABL positive)
  • Chronic neutrophilic leukemia
  • Chronic eosinophilic leukemia (and the hypereosinophilic syndrome)
  • Polycythemia vera
  • Chronic idiopathic myelofibrosis (with extramedullary hematopoiesis)
  • Essential thrombocythemia
  • Chronic myeloproliferative disease, unclassifiable
Additional references
Back to top